The monumental complex of Ston and its walls have a centuries-old history.Due to a rather prominent geogeaphical location,a short isthmus connecting the Pelješac Peninsula with the mainland,and extraordinary natural resources,fertile with anaboundance of water and salt,the Ston area was settled as early as the prehistoric times.

The town area of the mediaeval Ston expanded over the southern slopes of Sveti Mihajlo(St.Michael Hill).A settlement on the top has existed since the prehistory.The St. Michael´Church,located in the immediate vicinity of the present-day town,is one of the most valuable monuments from the Early Middle Ages.

In Roman times Ston was named Turris StagniIn 1333 it became part of the Dubrovnik Republic.From that time,all unitell the fall of the Dubrovnik Republic in 1808,Ston was its integral part and the second largest town after Dubrovnik.The inhabitants of Dubrovnik built and fortified the town to defend Pelješac and to protect the salterns,out of which they made a high profit.When the contruction of the fortification with 5.5 km long walls was finished in 1333,it was the longest fortification complex in Europe and the second largest in the world,after the famous Chinese Wall.

Ston is a rich treasury of cultural and historical monuments.Many of them are classfied under the higest category of protection.The tame and picturesque Mediterranean landscape makes this small town and its environment even more beatiful.Tourists are especially attracted by gastronomic specialities of the region,primarily oysters,mussels and other seafood that makes the Malostonski Bay famous.In other words,Ston should be visited and enjoyed in every sense.


Obrázková galerie